List of Commissioners


H.E. Joyce Banda

Former President of Malawi

Nkosazana Dlamini Zuma

Chairperson, African Union Commission

Peter Piot

Director, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine


Michel Sidibé

Executive Director, UNAIDS

Richard Horton

Editor, The Lancet


H.E. Boni Yayi

President of Benin

H.E. John Dramani Mahama

President of Ghana

M.H Portia Simpson-Miller

Prime Minister of Jamaica

H.E. Akie Abe

Spouse of the Prime Minister of Japan

H.E. Sylvia Bongo Ondimba

First Lady of Gabon

H.E. Jeannette Kagame

First Lady of Rwanda

Didier Burkhalter

Federal Councillor, Federal Department of Foreign Affairs (FDFA), Switzerland

Edwin Cameron

Constitutional Court Justice, South Africa

Gunilla Carlsson

Former Minister, International Development Cooperation for Sweden Independent member, GAVI Board

Ray Chambers

United Nations Secretary-General’s Special Envoy for Financing the Health Millennium Development Goals and for Malaria

Helen Clark

Administrator, United Nations Development Programme

Mark Dybul

Executive Director, Global Fund to Fight AIDS, Tuberculosis and Malaria

Anthony Fauci

Director, National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases, National Institutes of Health, Bethesda, MD, USA

Bekele Geleta

Former Secretary-General, International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies

Eric Goosby

Professor of Medicine and Director of the Center for Implementation Sciences, Global Health Sciences, University of California, San Francisco. United Nations Special Envoy on Tuberculosis (TB)

Donald Kaberuka

President, African Development Bank Group

Salim S. Abdool Karim

Director, Centre for the AIDS Programme of Research in South Africa (CAPRISA) and Chair, UNAIDS Scientific Expert Panel

Imane Khachani

Gynecology-Obstetrics, National Center for Reproductive Health, Rabat, Morocco

Michael Kirby

Former Justice, High Court of Australia

Pascal Lamy

Former European Commissioner and former Director-General, World Trade Organisation

Luiz Inácio Lula da Silva

Former President, Brazil

Nancy Mahon

Senior Vice-President, Global Philanthropy and Corporate Citizenship, Estée Lauder Global Executive Director, M•A•C AIDS Fund

Festus Mogae

Former President, Botswana

Svetlana Moroz

Founder, All-Ukrainian Network of People Living with HIV

Aaron Motsoaledi

Minister of Health, South Africa

Attapon Ed Ngoksin

Formerly Key Populations Officer, GNP+

Cristina Jade Peña

Ambassador, Elizabeth Glaser Pediatric AIDS Foundation

Isabel Apawo Phiri

Associate Secretary General, Public Witness and Diakonia, World Council of Churches

Jeffrey Sachs

Director, The Earth Institute, Colombia University Special Adviser to United Nations Secretary-General on the Millennium Development Goals

Charlize Theron

Founder, Charlize Theron Africa Outreach Project (CTAOP) and United Nations Messenger of Peace

Mechai Viravaidya

Founder, The Population and Community Development Association (PDA)

Sir Andrew Witty

Chief Executive Officer, GlaxoSmithKline

Michelle Yeoh

Activist and actress